Chief residents for the 2018-2019 are entrusted with developing clinical rotation schedules, performing administrative duties, and supervising junior residents, among other responsibilities.



  • Matt Wade, MD, Loyola University Medical Center, Illinois



  • Danielle Sanchez, MD, Brookdale Hospital and Medical Center, New York
  • George Ubinas, MD, University of Missouri, Missouri
  • Rakesh Doshetty, MD, Mt. Sinai Hospital and Medical Center, Illinois
  • Stephanie Zguris, MD, Michigan State University, Michigan




  • Alana Piersanti, MD, University of Mississippi Medical Center, Mississippi
  • Anvinderjeet Pannu, MD, Mercy Medical Center - Merced CA, California
  • Cresandra Corbin, Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson, New Jersey
  • David Carstens, MD, Medical College of Georgia, Georgia
  • Dharti Panara, MD, CentraState Medical Center, New Jersey
  • Geoffrey Beck, MD, Mercy Medical Center - Merced CA, California
  • Janet Barkhou, MD, MercyHealth Family Medicine Residency Program, Wisconsin
  • John Travis Nelson, MD, Virginia Tech Carilion Clinic, Virginia
  • Justin Stenqust, MD, St. Josephs Hospital and Medical Center, Dignity Health, Arizona
  • Morgan Shier, MD, Providence Hood River Rural Training Program, Rhode Island
  • Nayab Rifat, MD, University of Texas, Houston, Texas
  • Richard Veerman, MD, ETSU Family Medicine, Tennessee
  • Vanessa Fernandez, MD, Hoboken University Medical Center, New Jersey
  • Zhen Geng, MD, WMU School of Medicine, Michigan
  • Gilchris Burton, MD, Hackensack Meridian Health - Mountainside Medical Center, New Jersey
  • Raquel Espinosa, MD, Kaiser Riverside Family Medicine Residency, California
  • Yazdaan Juma, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center, Minnesota




  • Yana Puckett, MD, TexasTech University Health Sciences Center, Texas



  • Colleen Caprio, MD, Florida Atlantic Center, Florida
  • Jackie Smalls, MD, East Carolina University -  Brody School of Medicine, North Carolina
  • Lindsey Orr, MD, University of Connecticut, Connecticut
  • Luba Muaddi, MD, Flroida State University COM at TMH, Florida
  • Nathan Collins, MD, Santa Barbara Cottage Hospital, California
  • Paul Yeung-Lai-Wah, MD, Marshfield Clinic, Wisconsin
  • Roberto Swazo, MD, University of Arizona College of Medicine South Campus, Arizona
  • Sohaib Gilani, MD, St. Joseph Mercy Hospital - Ann Arbor, Michigan
  • Tejal Mistry, MD, Univeristy of Texas Houston Health Science Center, Texas
  • Andleeb Sherazi, MD, Brookdale Hospital, New York
  • Eddie Abney, MD, UT Austin Dell Medical Center, Texas
  • Maggie Meier, MD, St. Luke's Hospital, Pennsylvania




  • Olinda Pineda, MD, Duke University School of Medicine, North Carolina



  • Kelly McFarland, MD, Sinai Hospital of Baltimore, Maryland
  • Mary Nokkaew, MD, University of Tennessee - Chattanooga, Tennessee


Pediatric Medicine

  • Gary King, MD, University of Kansas Wichita, Kansas
  • Jeswin John, MD, University of Tennessee - Chattanooga, Tennessee
  • Kristen Bortolin, MD, Victoria Hospital Childrens Hospital of Western Ontario, Ontario
  • Matthew Davis, MD, University of Buffalo, New York




  • Kanaka Meyyazhagan, MD, Morehouse Medical, Georgia
  • Salma Rashan, MD, University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas



  • Amrit Hansra, MD, University of Arizona, Arizona

In 2020, 91% of RUSM students passed the initial step of the United States Medical Licensing Examination® (USMLE®) on the first attempt. And in 2022-2023, results show yet another strong year for RUSM with a 98% first-time residency attainment rate* thus far. Located on the island of Barbados and with a network of more than 15,000 alumni, RUSM is one of the largest providers of doctors for the U.S. healthcare system. RUSM graduates practice in all 50 states and in Puerto Rico.

*First time residency attainment rate is the percent of students attaining a 2023-24 residency position out of all graduates or expected graduates in 2022-23 who were active applicants in the 2023 NRMP match or who attained a residency position outside the NRMP match.